Gingerbread Cupcakes

January 16, 2011 at 4:32 am (Chocolate, Cupcakes, gingerbread)

So I wanted to do a holiday cupcake.  But I wasn’t really home over the holidays, and then it was sort of late in the season…but I still wanted to do a holiday cupcake.  Originally I was thinking eggnog, but it was out of stores, and I’ve never actually had eggnog so that will wait until next year.  So instead I decided on a gingerbread cupcake.

I got the base from Cupcake Project, but I also really felt like chocolate so…I went with a chocolate cream cheese frosting.  Initially I wasn’t sure how it would taste, but it paired really well.

Ingredients – Makes 36 mini cupcakes

  • 5 T unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/2 C white sugar
  • 1/2 C unsulfured molasses
  • 1 egg
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1 1/4 C all-purpose flour
  • 1 T cocoa powder
  • 1 3/8 t ground ginger
  • 1 1/4 t ground cinnamon
  • 1/8 t cloves
  • 1/2 t ground nutmeg
  • 1/4 t salt
  • 1 t baking soda
  • 1/2 C hot milk

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 F.
  2. Cream butter with the white sugar.
  3. Add the molasses and the egg and egg yolk.
  4. Sift together the flour, cocoa powder, ginger, cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg and salt. (I didn’t have allspice so I substituted 1/4 t cinnamon, 1/8 t ginger and 1/8 t cloves for the 1/2 t  of allspice the original recipe called for).
  5. Heat the milk until just before boiling, then dissolve the baking soda in it.  Stir well.
  6. Add the flour mixture to the butter mixture and stir until just combined.
  7. Stir in the hot milk mixture.
  8. Fill cupcake liners 3/4 full.
  9. Bake  for 12 minutes or until cupcakes bounce back when touched.

Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting

I wanted to use real melted chocolate to get the chocolate taste in the cream cheese frosting, but after referencing Cupcake Project as well as  Coconut Lime (one of her commenters) I decided to add a 1/4c of dutch processed cocoa powder as well.

Ingredients

  • 1 oz melted milk chocolate
  • 1/4 c dutch processed cocoa powder
  • 1 1/2 c confectioners sugar
  • 1/4c butter
  • 8 oz cream cheese

Directions

  1. Cream cream cheese and butter together
  2. Add melted chocolate
  3. Add confectioners sugar to taste.

Note: I like my frostings a bit less sweet than is tranditional.  You definitely might want to add more confectioners sugar if you like them sweeter.  Because of the relatively small amount of sugar in this frosting it’s fairly thick and makes slightly less than a normal batch of frosting – it covered all my cupcakes, but I used every last bit.

Reviews:

Everyone really liked this cupcake (except for the one guy who doesn’t love ginger).  I found them extremely addicting, and would definitely make them again.  I’d make it again exactly as-is (although I might pull it out at 10/11 minutes instead of the 12 I used for a slightly moister cake).  A storage note – stored in a small-ish airtight container the cupcakes actually became moister as time went by.

Leave a Reply

